Dairanger – 01

Seeing as how 2 awesome subb groups finished Gosei Sentai Dairanger [Link here] I decided to give this a go while I wait for Go-Busters to air.

Now I have watched the older Doctor Who back in black in white so I am familiar with bad special effects. There are some iffy special effects but they do not take away from watching.

The little boy with the yo-yo begs the question: is he suppose to resemble a nerd? Reminds me of the doll suicide arc from Puppetmaster Sakon for some reason. I know it’s the subbing but You-Power? That sounds really odd. A few scenes/similar items that I’ve seen in other shows keeps on popping up. The globes that you see behind Lieutenant Colonel Gara, made me instantly think of the Toclafane. The bike-chase scene reminds me of that Ch0 Den-O movie where we meet Yuu. The waiters hitting their friends on the bikes was funny. Looks like there will be some laughter for me in this series.

The rangers totally have their own style you can see it when they fight. Some use only their legs others use their staffs. Is Qi similar to telekinesis? That’s what it seems like, well for the Red Ranger at least. Near the end the special effects of that era really stand out, but I’m fine with that. My question is does only the Red Ranger have his beast with him? That’s what it seems like right now.

On to the next episode! Review for it will be posted tomorrow I hope! Ooooo next episode looks interesting.
Op: Ok… Interesting.
Ed: Lots of chanting style & very little eye candy since most of the scenes are reused

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Edit: Forgot to add the screencaps I took Oops!

7 thoughts on “Dairanger – 01

  1. We could have used “Yo-Power”, but that makes people think about other things 😛

    AND I THOUGHT OF THE TOCLAFANE TOO! Not sure if they were inspired by that.

    Qi-Power is basically inner power, with that, you can do anything (to them). Also, keep on watching the show, Dai didn’t introduce everything in ep 1, like they do in today’s shows. 🙂

    And I’m happy you’re watching our releases 🙂

    • I see, thanks for clearing that up~ I had to go back in the video & take another look. No problem, it gives me something else to watch while I wait for Go-Busters. Knowing me I will be done in about 3 days… [That’s how long it took me to finish Double]

  2. I love the visual style of Dai Ranger, its nice to look at an older Sentai when they don’t try to cram up the opening episode with information. Also it’s one of the best ones for choreography, perfectly representing the martial arts the team practices on screen, something i don’t think got repeated until GekiRanger.

    • I can totally see what you mean with the martial arts. I watched some of the past versus movies a while back so I have a idea with the older ones. Though the versus for Dairanger did not exist where I was watching it.

Leave a Reply

