Justice for Mackenzie by Susan Stoker

Title: Justice for Mackenzie
Series: Badge of Honor: Texas Heroes Book #1
Author: Susan Stoker

Genre: Contemporary Romance – Suspense

Published: August 4, 2015

Blurb: A member of the famed Texas Rangers, Daxton Chambers has dealt with more than his share of depravity. But the Lone Star Reaper takes evil to a whole new level, kidnapping and burying women alive. It’s Dax’s job to help keep San Antonio safe, but even with help from friends in various law enforcement agencies, the killer remains two steps ahead. It’s hardly the ideal time for a relationship, but Mackenzie Morgan is too luscious to resist. Dax wants her–which makes her an instant target for his newfound enemy.

Enjoy many of Susan Stoker’s books so was excited to read this. Was nice refreshing change that for the sneak peek in book 5 of SEAL of Protection you get the 2nd chapter where he actually interacts with her and not the opening chapter. Liked that the girl wasn’t a real push over with the fact that she’s clumsy makes her more human. The part where the unsub goes after Mack felt glossed over and dropped in just to move the story along with the fact the person who handles the work mail for him went on vacation. We never get to see anything much about them meeting her mom or brothers but just that they are spoken about. Really nice that she lightly touched on one of her other series when Mack was watching TV if you’ve read her Beyond Reality series. This book reminded me a little of The Shifter and the Dreamer by Crissy Smith. Yes it has supernatural elements but it’s very light it’s more romance while also trying to catch a killer who’s crazy. Next one sounds interesting to tie in. I really hope this girlfriend is clueless and maybe hiding a secret to why she’s there. Maybe she knows but he’s beating her defense down so she doesn’t tell? We’ll see.

Read again and others by her:
Of course!

Stars: 4

Similar books:
The Shifter and the Dreamer by Crissy Smith
SEAL of Protection by Susan Stoker – [Much as I hated #5, series as a whole is good]
Beyond Reality Series by Susan Stoker
Shifter Chronicles series by Crissy Smith [Book 4 just came out] 

Music Accompaniment: Zac Brown Band covering Devil Went Down To Georgia


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s