Sherlock Holmes and the Frozen City – 3ds thoughts

Ugh. As much as I like Sherlock games this really needs some back to the drawing board to get kinks out.

Genre of gaming: Puzzle & action

Summary: When a mysterious snowstorm falls on London, so cold that even the Thames is starting to freeze, Sherlock Holmes, the most astute detective of all time, is called in to investigate. Explore amazing environments, meet and interrogate many colorful characters, and examine objects and clues in order to discover the evidence that will help solve this incredible case. Many original puzzles and brain-teasers will put your skills to the test during your investigation, while you unveil the truth behind the Mystery of the Frozen City!

Thoughts: Think they tried too hard making this game. The artwork was really nice in this, was cool to see Mycroft though I can not see him being afraid. My biggest pet peeves was the touch screen’s sensitivity to move around. If it was a drag a mouse around would work better as I kept re-clicking on things or jumping places. I came across 2 puzzles that were impossible that I walked away to wait for the “complete this puzzle” button to load. Would have liked a more robust tutorial in the game as I was floundering around. As of right now I’ve given up as I’ve gotten stuck at trying to get the teleporter to work and get the last sugar cube locked in a drawer. I may hand over this game to either of my friends who love puzzles to help me. Sad there’s no guides out for this but then again this game is not that grand. May see more of these in the future.

Edit: Handed one of my puzzle friends this game as a new game and could not understand the mechanics to move around and got frustrated before she even got to the first puzzle. And she’s more of a 3ds gamer then me.

Music of the day:

Sherlock Holmes in the 22nd century theme song
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=niaqihFq5pQ

Leave a Reply

